Nomura Bank (cloned firm)

26 Jul 2016 Waarschuwing van een buitenlandse toezichthouder

The Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) warns the public against the activities of Nomura Bank, a company that offers investment services.

Nomura Bank is not an authorized investment firm in Belgium. It is therefore not allowed to provide investment services in or from within Belgium.

According to the information available to the FSMA, this may be a form of "boiler room" fraud. Additional information about this type of fraud is provided in the general warning published by the FSMA on 26 July 2016.

The FSMA thus advises against responding to any offer of financial service made by the Nomura Bank company and against transferring money to any account number it might mention.

Nomura Bank uses the website www.nomura-bank.com, the email address support@nomura-bank.com and telephone number +44 20 37 69 76 35. It claims to have its registered office in the United Kingdom (Nomura House, 1 St Martin's-le-Grand, London EC1A 4NP).

In order to try to give the appearance of legitimacy, Nomura Bank seeks to give investors the impression that it holds an authorization by referring to REGAFI, the register of financial firms maintained by the ACPR, a French supervisory authority, and more specifically to the page concerning the French company Banque Nomura France, authorized by the ACPR, and the British companies Nomura Asset Management UK Limited, Nomura Bank International Plc and Nomura International Plc, all three of which hold authorizations from the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), the British supervisory authority. The reference to these companies is, however, a case of identity theft. The Nomura Bank company is in fact unrelated to the above-mentioned authorized companies. This practice is a common feature of the type of fraud known as "cloned firms": the identity of an existing person or company (e.g., a lawyer, an authorized company, etc.) is usurped in order to give the appearance of trustworthiness or legitimacy, and thereby to convince investors.

The FCA has also published a warning on its website, indicating that certain individuals are using the details of Nomura Bank International Plc to suggest they are working for that firm.

Would you like to enquire more generally as to whether a transaction being proposed complies with the financial legislation? Please use the search function (available in French and Dutch only) on the FSMA website. You can also contact the FSMA directly (email address: info@fsma.be).

Informatie delen

Delen via: deel