ESMA appoints Jos Heuvelman as chair Supervisory Convergence Standing Committee


The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has appointed Mr Jos Heuvelman, who is a Member of Executive Board of the Autoriteit Financiële Markten (AFM) of the Netherlands, to serve as the chair of the Supervisory Convergence Standing Committee (SCSC) and as chair of the Senior Supervisors Forum.

The SCSC’s mandate includes:

  • identifying topics for, and carrying out, peer reviews by ESMA;
  • promoting a common framework within ESMA in relation to supervisory convergence;
  • reporting to the ESMA Board on the implementation of the supervisory convergence work programme; and
  • dealing with cross-cutting issues of supervisory convergence that arise.

The standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and Member States national competent authorities for securities markets regulation, and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas.  

The appointment is effective immediately and will run until 1 February 2023.

Journalists may contact Yolanda Bieckmann, AFM spokesperson via 06 3177 7686 of

Read the press release on the website of ESMA.


The AFM is committed to promoting fair and transparent financial markets.

As an independent market conduct authority, we contribute to a sustainable financial system and prosperity in the Netherlands.

Share information

Share on: Share this